Dear Healthcare Clients and Friends

11/01/2001

As you may know, a Senate Special Interim Committee on Prompt Payment of Health Care Providers has been established to evaluate current state law and agency rules designed to ensure the prompt payment of health insurance claims to providers by insurance companies and to recommend ways to improve the process.  Senator Jane Nelson of Flower Mound will chair this committee.  Senator John Carona of Dallas will serve as Vice-Chair.  The remaining members of the committee are Senator Troy Fraser of Horseshoe Bay, Senator Mario Gallegos of Houston and Senator Judith Zaffirini of Laredo.  Haynes and Boone is acquainted with the leadership of the Senate Interim Committee and will be monitoring the progress of the committee on the prompt payment issue.  If you have any comments or recommendations that you would like to be considered by the committee, please send those to us and we will forward them to the committee.

If you have any questions regarding the prompt payment issue or the new Special Interim Committee, please feel free to contact the health care attorneys listed below:

 

Karen Altaras

817.347.6604

altarask@haynesboone.com

Earl Harcrow

817.347.6646

harcrowe@haynesboone.com

Jeffrey P. King

512.867.8413

kingj@haynesboone.com

Rebecca K. Lambeth

512.867.8476

lambethr@haynesboone.com

Lewis A. Lefko

214.651.5608

lefkol@haynesboone.com

Thomas Mayo

214.651.5676

mayotw@haynesboone.com

Alexandria "Hien" Nguyen

972.739.6921

nguyena@haynesboone.com

Lisa S. Sooter

214.651.5383

sooterl@haynesboone.com

The Haynes and Boone website contains a number of alerts and updates on various topics, as well as information about the firm.  The following items may be of particular interest to health care clients:

Email Disclaimer