SEC Focus on Commodity Prices and Related Form 10-Q/10-K Disclosure

10/26/2015

The staff of the Securities and Exchange Commission’s Division of Corporation Finance, in connection with its review of periodic reports filed by exploration and production (E&P) companies in 2015, has recently issued a number of comment letters to these companies asking them to quantify the impact of low commodity prices on their proved reserves and results of operations. During periods of low commodity prices in the past, reporting E&P companies have typically included in their risk factor and MD&A disclosures general statements regarding the effects these low prices could have on their businesses.

To read the full alert, click on the PDF linked below.

SEC-Focus-on-Commodity-Prices.pdf

If you have any questions about this topic, please contact a member of our Capital Markets and Securities Practice Group.

Ryan Cox
214.651.5273
ryan.cox@haynesboone.com

Kendall Hollrah
713.547.2089
kendall.hollrah@haynesboone.com

Greg Kramer
212.835.4819
greg.kramer@haynesboone.com

Bill Nelson
713.547.2084
bill.nelson@haynesboone.com

Bruce Newsome
214.651.5119
bruce.newsome@haynesboone.com

Greg Samuel
214.651.5645
greg.samuel@haynesboone.com

Jan Sharry
214.651.5562
janice.sharry@haynesboone.com

Alan Talesnick
720.484.3712
alan.talesnick@haynesboone.com

Marc Folladori
713.547.2238
marc.folladori@haynesboone.com

Rick Werner
212.659.4974
rick.werner@haynesboone.com

Email Disclaimer