Mexico Plans Deep-Water Auction for Round One – Fourth Public Bid in 2016

12/18/2015

As part of the implementation of the Mexican energy reform, the Mexican government has selected certain fields that will gradually be tendered to foreign and domestic companies for hydrocarbon exploration and production projects. Round One comprises 109 blocks for exploration and 60 blocks for production, and includes new areas of different sizes and types of resources, including: (i) deep-water; (ii) shallow-water; and (iii) on-shore fields. Together, these blocks cover approximately 28,500 km2.

As previously reported, the National Hydrocarbons Commission (Comisión Nacional de Hidrocarburos) (“CHN”) called three international public bids: one for 14 exploration and production blocks in shallow waters, another for 9 production blocks in shallow waters, and another for 26 onshore production blocks. The winners were awarded production sharing contracts in the first two public bids and with license contracts in the third one, respectively. The fourth public bid is significant because it is the first bid covering deep-water blocks and is the second time license contracts are used in Mexico. Also, it is anticipated to attract up to $44 billion in new investment.

To read the full alert click on the PDF linked below.

Mexico-Round-One-Fourth-Public-Bid.pdf

To read more about the international public bids CNH-R01-L01/2014 and CNH-R01-L02/2015, please refer to our previous alerts, as set forth in the links below:

Mexico Round One – First Bidding Process

Mexico Round One – Second Bidding Process

Mexico Round One – Third Bidding Process

For more information in connection with this third bidding process, please contact any of the following lawyers:

Mexico

Houston

Dallas

William (Hunt) Buckley
+52.55.5249.1812
hunt.buckley@haynesboone.com

Ricardo Garcia-Moreno
+1 713.547.2208
ricardo.garcia-moreno@haynesboone.com

Terry W. Conner
+1 214.651.5604
terry.conner@haynesboone.com

Luis F. Moreno Trevino
+52.55.5249.1821
luis.moreno@haynesboone.com

George Y. Gonzalez
+1 713.547.2011
george.gonzalez@haynesboone.com

Alberto de la Peña
+1 214.651.5618
alberto.delapena@haynesboone.com

Ariel Ramos
+52.55.5249.1820
ariel.ramos@haynesboone.com

Bradley J. Richards
+1 713.547.2028
brad.richards@haynesboone.com

Eduardo Corzo Ramos
+52.55.5249.1817
eduardo.corzo@haynesboone.com

   

 


Email Disclaimer