Lamont A. Jefferson Elected to San Antonio Bar Post



Mr. Jefferson will take the reins of the 3,300-member professional group in 2006 at the end of the term of current president Mary Belan Doggett.

As a partner who has worked at Haynes and Boone for more than eight years, Mr. Jefferson has extensive trial experience throughout South Texas, where he has amassed a record of more than 50 jury verdicts. He has been board certified in Personal Injury Trial Law since 1990, but his most recent trial practice focuses on business litigation.

Mr. Jefferson was inducted into the American College of Trial Lawyers in 2004, is in his second term as president of Texas RioGrande Legal Aid, has served as area vice president of the Texas Association of Defense Counsel, and has served on the board of the San Antonio Public Library Foundation.

He received his law degree from the University of Texas in 1984 after taking his undergraduate degree from Rice University in 1981.

The San Antonio Bar Association is a professional organization comprised primarily of members of the bench and bar of the San Antonio legal community.  One centerpiece program of the organization is the Community Justice Center, a program made up of judges and lawyers who volunteer their time to provide free legal services to the needy.  In addition, SABA conducts continuing legal education programs, operates a legal referral service, and conducts other programs in the community’s interest.

Haynes and Boone, LLP is an international law firm with 10 offices throughout Texas, Washington, D.C., Mexico City, Moscow and New York, providing a full spectrum of legal services to clients around the world. With more than 450 attorneys, Haynes and Boone is ranked among the largest law firms in the nation by National Law Journal.  The firm has been recognized as one of the "20 Best Law Firms to Work For" (, 2004), one of the “Best Corporate Law Firms in America” (Corporate Board Member Magazine, 2001-2004), and has received the Minority Corporate Counsel Association’s 2002 Thomas L. Sager Award for commitment to diversity.

Media Contact

Nathan Koppel
Director of Media Relations
+1 512.867.8431

Email Disclaimer