Press Release

Deb Coldwell Serves as Co-Editor of ABA’s Franchise Litigation Handbook

August 09, 2021
Haynes and Boone, LLP Partner Deb Coldwell has co-edited a new book for the American Bar Association (ABA) Forum on Franchising, titled The Franchise Litigation Handbook, Second Edition.

The handbook, which can be found here, provides a practical guide that analyzes each stage of a franchise dispute and offers strategies for gaining advantages at each phase of litigation. Franchise lawyers can use this handbook as a litigation guide; it explains what works, what doesn’t work, and what may happen at each point in a franchise dispute. It is also a great resource for in-house counsel to use as a reference for any litigation affecting a franchise system.

The first edition of this book, published in 2010, was the first comprehensive book focused solely on franchise litigation. With the increase in franchising as a proven method for expanding businesses and providing goods and services, the updated information in the second edition serves as an important guide for all counsel who represent franchisees and franchisors in franchise disputes.

Deb represents franchisors, distributors, joint ventures, limited liability companies, partnerships and the individuals who run those companies in jury trials, bench trials and arbitrations. She has litigated across several industries – from hotels and restaurants to health clubs and tax preparation services to product and service-based franchise and distribution networks.

Deb served as chair of the ABA Forum on Franchising (2013–2015). She was editor in chief of the Franchise Law Journal (2006–2009) and the Forum’s publications officer (2009–2013). Deb also serves as co-chair of Haynes and Boone’s Franchise and Distribution Practice Group and as co-chair of the firm’s Sports Law Practice Group.

Deb was a chapter author of the first edition of The Franchise Litigation Handbook ABA Forum on Franchising (2010) and The Franchise and Distribution Termination Handbook, ABA Section of Antitrust (2004 and 2011).
Media Contacts