Haynes and Boone Broadly Recognized in 2019 Texas Super Lawyers Directory


Fifty Haynes and Boone, LLP lawyers, spanning multiple practice areas and offices, have been recognized in the 2019 edition of Texas Super Lawyers, published by Thomson Reuters.

Super Lawyers is a rating service of outstanding lawyers from more than 70 practice areas who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement. The selection process includes independent research, peer nominations and peer evaluations. Of those nominated, only 5 percent of the total lawyers in the state are selected for inclusion.

Partner Nina Cortell was listed among Super Lawyer’s Top 100 lawyers in Texas. Cortell and Partners Lynne Liberato and Karen Precella were also included in the listing of the Top 50 Women Texas Super Lawyers.

The Super Lawyers directory also included Partner Ben Mesches and Cortell in their listing of the Top 100 lawyers in DFW. Lynne Liberato and Mark Trachtenberg were listed among the Top 100 Houston lawyers.

This year marks the 10th year that Matthew Deffebach and Laura O’Donnell, partners in the firm’s Labor and Employment Practice Group, have been included in the Super Lawyers listing.

The following are listed as Super Lawyers:


Jeff Civins – Environmental

Mike Hatchell – Appellate

Laura Prather – Media and Advertising


Kit Addleman – Criminal Defense: White Collar

Purvi Patel Albers – Intellectual Property

Jeffrey M. Becker – Intellectual Property

Thad Behrens – Securities Litigation

Michael M. Boone – Mergers & Acquisitions

Stacy L. Brainin – Criminal Defense: White Collar

Ronald W. Breaux – Antitrust Litigation

Deborah S. Coldwell – Franchise/Dealership

John M. Collins – Estate Planning & Probate

Eli Columbus – Bankruptcy

Nina Cortell – Appellate

Jeff W. Dorrill – Tax

John R. Emerson – Intellectual Property Litigation

Melissa M. Goodman – Employment Litigation: Defense

David H. Harper – Intellectual Property Litigation

Anne M. Johnson – Appellate

Ernest Martin Jr. – Insurance Coverage

David L. McCombs – Intellectual Property

Barry F. McNeil – Antitrust Litigation

Benjamin L. Mesches – Appellate

Scott G. Night – Banking

Ian Peck – Bankruptcy: Business

Phillip B. Philbin – Intellectual Property Litigation

Timothy E. Powers – International

Werner A. Powers – Insurance Coverage

Ann M. Saegert – Real Estate

Greg R. Samuel – Securities & Corporate Finance

Janice V. Sharry – Securities & Corporate Finance

W. Scott Wallace – Mergers & Acquisitions, Securities & Corporate Finance

Susan A. Wetzel – Employee Benefits/ERISA

Fort Worth

Brian D. Barnard – Securities & Corporate Finance

Karen C. Denney – Employment & Labor

Stephen M. Pezanosky – Bankruptcy: Business

Karen S. Precella – Appellate

Thomas J. Williams – Business Litigation


Charles Beckham Jr. – Bankruptcy: Business

Bernard "Buddy" Clark Jr. – Energy & Natural Resources

Matthew T. Deffebach – Employment & Labor

Jesse J. Gelsomini – Employee Benefits

Patrick L. Hughes – Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights

Lynne Liberato – Appellate

Michael J. Mazzone – Civil Litigation Defense

Kent Rutter – Appellate

Mark Trachtenberg – Appellate

San Antonio

Diana M. Liebmann – Utilities

Laura E. O'Donnell – Employment Litigation: Defense

The Woodlands

Craig Stahl – Energy & Natural Resources

Email Disclaimer