Press Release

Texas Super Lawyers Features 57 Haynes and Boone Lawyers

September 04, 2018

Texas Super Lawyers recognized 57 Haynes and Boone, LLP lawyers in the 2018 edition of the annual directory published by Thomson Reuters.

Partners Nina Cortell and Ben Mesches were named Top 100 Super Lawyers in Texas and Top 100 Dallas/Fort Worth Super Lawyers. Partners Mark Trachtenberg and Lynne Liberato were named Top 100 Houston Super Lawyers. Cortell and Liberato also were recognized among the state’s Top 50 women lawyers.

Additionally, seven Haynes and Boone lawyers were recognized for having been on a selective, Super Lawyers top-attorney list for 10 years or more: Robert Albergotti, Charles Beckham, Jeff Civins, Nina Cortell, Mike Hatchell, Lynne Liberato and Karen Precella.

Super Lawyers is a rating service of outstanding lawyers from more than 70 practice areas who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement. The selection process includes independent research, peer nominations and peer evaluations. Of those nominated, only five percent of the total lawyers in the state are selected for inclusion.

The following are listed as Super Lawyers:


Jeff Civins – Environmental

Mike Hatchell – Appellate

Laura Prather – Media and Advertising


Kit Addleman – Criminal Defense: White Collar

Robert D. Albergotti – Bankruptcy

Purvi Patel Albers – Intellectual Property

Jeffrey M. Becker – Intellectual Property

Thad Behrens – Securities Litigation

Michael M. Boone – Mergers & Acquisitions

Stacy L. Brainin – Criminal Defense: White Collar

Ronald W. Breaux – Antitrust Litigation

Deborah S. Coldwell – Franchise/Dealership

John M. Collins – Estate Planning & Probate

Eli Columbus – Bankruptcy

Nina Cortell – Appellate

Jeff W. Dorrill – Tax

John R. Emerson – Intellectual Property Litigation

Melissa M. Goodman – Employment Litigation: Defense

David H. Harper – Intellectual Property Litigation

Anne M. Johnson – Appellate

Jeremy D. Kernodle – Appellate

Ernest Martin Jr. – Insurance Coverage

David L. McCombs – Intellectual Property

Barry F. McNeil – Antitrust Litigation

Benjamin L. Mesches – Appellate

Scott G. Night – Banking

Ian Peck – Bankruptcy: Business

Phillip B. Philbin – Intellectual Property Litigation

Charles F. Plenge – Employee Benefits/ERISA

Timothy E. Powers – International

Werner A. Powers – Insurance Coverage

Ann M. Saegert – Real Estate

Greg R. Samuel – Securities & Corporate Finance

Janice V. Sharry – Securities & Corporate Finance

W. Scott Wallace – Mergers & Acquisitions, Securities & Corporate Finance

Susan A. Wetzel – Employee Benefits/ERISA

Robert E. Wilson – Real Estate

Kenya Woodruff – Healthcare

Fort Worth

Brian D. Barnard – Securities & Corporate Finance

Karen C. Denney – Employment & Labor

Stephen M. Pezanosky – Bankruptcy: Business

Karen S. Precella – Appellate

Thomas J. Williams – Business Litigation


Charles Beckham Jr. – Bankruptcy: Business

Bernard "Buddy" Clark Jr. – Energy & Natural Resources

Matthew T. Deffebach – Employment & Labor

John R. Eldridge – Environmental Litigation

Henry Flores – Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights

Jesse J. Gelsomini – Employee Benefits

Patrick L. Hughes – Bankruptcy & Creditor/Debtor Rights

Lynne Liberato – Appellate

Michael J. Mazzone – Civil Litigation Defense

Kent Rutter – Appellate

Craig Stahl – Energy & Natural Resources

Mark Trachtenberg – Appellate

San Antonio

Diana M. Liebmann – Utilities

Laura E. O'Donnell – Employment Litigation: Defense